Three Steps to Take After a Serious Workplace Accident
Whether you are currently employed as a manual laborer or you work behind a desk, there is always a possibility that you could be injured on the job. It is for this reason that Florida law requires all employers to purchase workers’ compensation insurance on behalf of their employees—whether they hold full-time or part-time positions. This, in turn, provides workers with the assurance that their medical bills and lost wages will be covered in the event of an accident. Unless an injured worker is diligent in their efforts to recover compensation, however, there is no guarantee that their claim will be approved. For this reason, the West Palm Beach personal injury lawyer at our firm encourages you to keep three simple tips in mind if you have been involved in a workplace accident:
#1: If it is an emergency, seek medical attention immediately.
First and foremost, you should see to it that your injuries are treated after an accident. If it is an emergency, you should not hesitate to call an ambulance and seek available medical care. If you are suffering from a mild ailment or illness, however, you may want to speak with your employer first—as they may wish to send you to a preferred doctor. In order to fulfill the requirements of a workers’ compensation claim, you will then be required to undergo an independent medical examination or insurance medical exam (IME).
#2: Report the accident to your employer as soon as possible.
In the state of Florida, you are required to report a workplace accident and any resulting injuries to your employer within 30 days. If you fail to do so, your ability to recover compensation may be jeopardized—as your employer or their insurer may subsequently claim that your injuries were not actually suffered on the job. For this reason, it is highly recommended that you inform your employer of the accident, in writing, as soon as possible. In doing so, you may be able to avoid a workers’ compensation claim denial in the future.
#3: File a workers’ comp claim within 2 years of the accident.
If you are suffering from a work-related injury or illness, you would have two years to file an official workers’ compensation claim with the insurance company. While this may seem like a lot of time, it should also be noted that your ability to secure compensation may be jeopardized if you wait too long to notify your employer of the accident. For this reason, you should take measures to file the necessary paperwork as soon as possible. If you need help doing so, you should not hesitate to speak with a West Palm Beach injury attorney.
If you have run into problems with your workers’ compensation claim, it is highly recommended that you seek guidance from the legal team at The Law Offices of Casey D. Shomo, P.A. Our firm can assist you in appealing a claim denial or even in taking further legal action when necessary. In many cases, an injured worker is entitled to more money than what has been offered by the insurance company, so it may be in your best interests to ensure that you are fairly compensated. Time is of the essence when dealing with cases of workplace injury, however, so you should not hesitate to take action quickly. Fortunately, all you have to do is call our office today at (800) 690-7868 to get started. You can also submit a free case evaluation form online.