Florida Statute of Limitations for Injury Claims
How long do I have to file a lawsuit in West Palm Beach?
In the state of Florida, all civil actions are regulated by a specific statute of limitations. This means that you would only have a certain amount of time to bring suit against a negligent party or individual. If you do not file an official complaint for damages within this period of time, you would effectively forfeit your right to compensation—even if you would have otherwise been entitled to it. For this reason, the West Palm Beach personal injury attorney at The Law Offices of Casey D. Shomo, P.A. encourages you to take timely action if you or someone you love has been wrongfully injured in Florida. There is no reason why you should jeopardize your chances of financial recovery when our firm is ready and willing to help.
While most personal injury claims will be subject to a four-year statute of limitations, it is important to understand that all civil actions are regulated by different restrictions—depending on the category that they fall under. That being said, it is important for you to determine how long you will have to pursue compensation as soon as you have been injured and/or suffered a loss. In doing so, you can ensure that you will at least have the opportunity to secure the level of compensation that you deserve. You can either discuss your case with the legal team at our firm for further information or utilize the following information as a general guideline to the statute of limitations in Florida:
- Personal Injury Cases: 4 years from the date of injury
- Medical Malpractice Cases: 2 years from the date of injury
- Products Liability Cases: 4 years from the date of injury
- Breach of Contract Cases: 5 years from the date of breach
- Libel & Slander Cases: 2 years from the date of incidence
What if the injury wasn’t discovered right away?
Although most injuries will be immediately apparent, there are a number of circumstances in which an injury may not be discovered for months or even years after it was originally inflicted. For example, a patient may not realize that a surgical instrument has been left inside of their body until it starts to cause complications a few years later. Under the traditional statute of limitations, their window of opportunity may have already expired before they even discovered the injury. It is for this reason that a “discovery rule” has been included in this statute. This rule allows for exceptions to be made when an injury was not immediately apparent. It provides that the plaintiff would have a certain period of time to take legal action after their injury was discovered, rather than inflicted.
Don’t wait – retain the help of our legal team today!
If you are interested in pursuing damages for a wrongful injury in Florida, it is imperative that you move quickly to retain the help of a West Palm Beach personal injury lawyer from our firm. The statute of limitations could be running out on your case, so there is no reason why you should wait any longer to take action. Not only can our firm offer years of experience, but we can even provide you with the assurance that we have already recovered millions of dollars in settlements and verdicts on behalf of our clients. For this reason, you can trust that you are in capable hands when you turn to our firm for guidance. Call today at (800) 690-7868 for a free case evaluation.